Home > Uncategorized > A word to the wise…

A word to the wise…

If you are planning on relocating to Japan and you’d like to drive, don’t take residence in Kanagawa.

Today, among my group of seven, seven people failed. I was the closest to passing, as I actually made it to the end of the test, and was told I failed by the slimmest of margins. On two left-hand corners, I turned wide by 10 cm. And prior to one left hand turn, I was 60 cm from the curb as I approached the limit line, rather than 50.

I was lectured about the importance of preventing cyclists from entering my blind spot. I don’t know many bicycles
That are less than 60 cm wide.

What I do know, is that in Tokyo or Chiba, many attempting license conversions pass on their first attempt. In Kanagawa, I have heard only anecdotal evidence of such, and it seems doubtful. Futamatagawa’s reputation seems to be well deserved. I may well pass on my third attempt. But if I do, that would still be beating the average.

Having invested ¥32,000 so far – most of that flowing into the coffers of the prefectural police – I’m not giving up yet.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Koji
    October 30, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I heard that Kanagawa pref. had had top incidence of traffic accidents. So it’s harder to get a driver’s license in Kanagawa than other locations.

  2. 79rivers
    November 1, 2009 at 12:22 am

    They also say Kagawa has one of the highest incidences of traffic accidents, but I think that stat came out after I got my liscense. Kanagawa sounds awfully harsh. But keep trying. Eventually you’ll get it. All these rejections are the prefecture’s way of keeping us humble.

  3. November 4, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    32,000 yen!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

